Romantically Challenged Support Group, Part 3

I hope the last few weeks have been a help to you. I know that it has helped me to list and practice these principles in my marriage. Let’s continue.

Know When To Shut Up

This may sound harsh but not everything that goes through your mind needs to come out of your mouth! The Bible instructs us in the book of James to be “swift to hear, slow to speak, and slow to wrath.” My Dad used to tell me, “God gave you two ears and one mouth. Therefore you should listen twice as much as you talk.” Thanks, Dad! That simple advice, which is rooted in a biblical precept, has saved my marriage much heartache. Of course you know, I am still human and therefore not perfect. Sometimes this tongue of mine gets me in to a heap of trouble! Guard your tongue. Pray what the Psalmist prayed, “Lord, set a watch before my mouth.”

Nothing kills the romance in your marriage quite like an argument or disagreement. Bob Lepine says it this way, “Using the words, ‘I told you so’ doesn’t create a romantic buzz. Avoid those four words at all cost.” Ogden Nash said it this way, “To keep your marriage brimming with love in the loving cup. When you’re wrong admit it, and when you’re right, shut up.”

Laugh Together

Don’t take yourself or life too seriously. Even God had a sense of humor. Read the Bible. Look at what He created. I imagine that I must make God laugh with the different things I do in life. I’m His creation, His child, and He delights in me! So if He laughs, so should we.

When’s the last time you and your spouse just busted out laughing? To the point when you can’t even catch your breath, your stomach muscles got a good workout, and your jaw is so sore from being opened so wide? Personally I believe that laughter is a prerequisite to romance. No one wants to be around a grump! Honestly, one of the first things that attracted me to my wife is her infectious laugh. It makes me just want to be with her.

Intimacy Begins in the Kitchen

Get your mind out of the gutter and listen closely, husbands. Generally, wives are appreciative of the help you give around the house. Especially, unsolicited help. When you lighten her load by being a servant, she has more time for “other things.” And the grateful girl wants to say “thank you.” I’m not trying to be crude, just realistic. We wonder why they’re so tired when we get to bed. Why don’t you help and maybe she’ll reward you for your efforts. Therefore, intimacy begins in the kitchen. (we’ll conclude this article next week)

Leave a Reply

