New Security System

disarming alarm system

 

At some point or another, I am sure that someone has tried to sell you some “peace of mind.” Whether the pitch involved a new invention, updated technology, or a robust security system, part of us agrees with the presentation. You have to be foolish to not desire increased peace of mind.

Last year, on a couple of occasions, my family and I were victims of vandals. They didn’t harm me or my family but some of that peace was taken away. Though I have no doubt my wife knows how to protect herself and our child when I am not home (thanks to the second amendment) it is still disturbing that there are people out there that want to steal away peace from others!

In an effort to gain some of that peace back, I consulted with a former police officer on ways to better secure our home.  Since then, we haven’t had any more problems with vandals.

The other day, a salesman came to the door selling a security system. My wife patiently listened to him and was quite impressed. She told me about what the company has to offer and frankly, I agree with her. The term “peace of mind” was used again in our conversation. I told her I’d research the matter out further.

Consumers do a lot to protect their properties as well as their loved ones. Funds are designated to pay for that “peace of mind.” And yet I wonder, what have Christians done to provide a good and secure home for their families?

Unlike the Devil, today’s vandals and burglars want to steal your possessions. But the Devil wants to destroy your family! He wants to render you and your family useless for God. Worse yet, if you have unsaved family members, the Devil wants to attack you in such a way that they will remain unsaved. This is a serious matter! What should we do? Here are some suggestions.

Keep Yourself Right with God

Dr. Lee Roberson used to often say, “Everything rises and falls on leadership.” Dad and mom, how’s your personal walk with God? Are you reading, meditating, memorizing, and learning the Scriptures? You cannot teach your children what you do not first know for yourself.

Keep Your Family In Church

The natural reaction for most Christians when they struggle is to drop out of church. That’s foolish! Church is where you’ll find support, encouragement, and instruction. As the Psalmist said during his time of trial, “Lead me to the Rock that is higher than I.”

Keep Communications Open

Talk! It’s best to discuss a problem and how to solve it before is happens rather than after. Be in tune with what your spouse and children are saying. Sometimes, those quick verbal jabs have a deeper meaning.

Keep Having Family Devotions

Our families need to see and know that our help comes from God. He may choose to use people but help is ultimately from Him. Having family devotions teaches everyone that without God, we can do nothing. And if God be for us, who can be against us?

How much time and effort have your spent securing your home spiritually? You know what I’ve noticed? My dogs don’t keep bugging me about a security system. Neither does Anabelle. They are oblivious to the danger that surrounds them. But I still take steps to secure my home. The decision to secure my home lies with me not my child. Whether she likes it or not, the steps I’ve taken are for her protection. The steps we’ve outlined in this article are for our families’ spiritual protection!

 

Leave a Reply

