HomeBuilders Class’ 11th Anniversary

Eleven years ago, I stood before three married couples and my wife to teach the first ever HomeBuilders Couples class at Desert Gateway Baptist Church. I was so nervous! My hands were shaking. Every part of my body was sweating, even parts I didn’t know I had. My voice was quivering. I don’t remember much what I said during that first class though I remember the lesson. All I remember was this – when I was done I told myself, “I’m glad that’s over.” 

Every person on that first Sunday listened with a smile on their face, excited about the fact that there was finally an adult class in our church that seeks to meet their needs spiritually and socially. In their minds, this was the beginning of something great. In my mind, I was just trying to get through the lesson!

The years have passed and the class has since spawned new classes. When we started, any couple can come to our class (and to some extent, they still can), but today our class consists of engaged couples, newlyweds, and couples with children elementary age and below. Most of our class members are fairly new to the church, with a few that have been with us since 2003. We have occupied five different classrooms on the church property. We have taught three books of the Bible verse by verse, covered close to thirty lesson series, and have had over a dozen guest teachers. Over the years, much has happened and changed with Desert Gateway Baptist’s HomeBuilders Class. But some things remain the same as that first Sunday of November in 2001.

We still teach the biblical principles of marriage and the home from the King James version of the Bible. We still share prayer requests and praises with each other. We sorrow with each other. We rejoice with each other. We still make hospital visits. We still provide meals for each other. We still pray for each other’s children to be saved. We still provide opportunities to fellowship, serve, and laugh together. Until Jesus comes back, the HomeBuilders class will continue to operate under the leading of the Holy Spirit, as we did from the beginning.

I don’t know what the next eleven years hold for our class. I don’t even know if I’ll still be teaching the class (I would like to but it’s all up to God). But until He calls me home or tells me to stop, I pray that I can still see marriages strengthened. I pray for the privilege of leading more couples and their children to Christ. I want to see more parents leading their children to Christ. I desire to see every family in our class establish and maintain family devotions. I seek to see others move on from our class to serve in other (and in even greater) capacities within our church or another local church. I would like to see more couples’ classes established with the same biblical purpose we claim in the HomeBuilders class, “except the LORD build the house, they labour in vain that build it.”

The “magic” of our class isn’t found in the lessons taught or the personalities that make up our group. It is found in the Person of the Lord Jesus Christ, the chief Cornerstone, and the Foundation of every home, upon Whom we must build our homes. Thank you, Lord, for allowing me to be a part of a great group of Christians! And I am also thankful for a pastors who have mentored and modeled before me the right life so that I can teach others also.

Leave a Reply

