Finishing a Proverb

 

I’ve been spending the last few months preparing for my college class this fall. I have the privilege of teaching the book of Proverbs at Desert Baptist Bible College and I am excited to dive into this rich portion of the Scriptures.

I have been encouraged to read a Proverb a day since I got saved almost two decades ago and I am amazed at what God continues to teach me each day. In my preparation, I have scoured resources to find commentaries, illustrations, anecdotes, and various stories that would help me communicate the richness and depth of this book. Here’s one article that made me laugh and think:

A first grade teacher collected well-known proverbs. She gave each child in her class the first half of a proverb and asked them to come up with the remainder of the proverb. Their insight may surprise you.

Better to be safe than … punch a 5th grader.

Strike while the … bug is close.

It’s always darkest before … Daylight Savings Time.

Never underestimate the power of … termites.

You can lead a horse to water but … how?

Don’t bite the hand that … looks dirty.

No news is … impossible.

A miss is as good as a … Mr.

You can’t teach an old dog new … math.

If you lie down with dogs, you’ll … stink in the morning.

The pen is mightier than the … pigs.

An idle mind is … the best way to relax.

Where there’s smoke there’s … pollution.

Happy is the bride who … gets all the presents.

A penny saved is … not much.

Two’s company, three’s … the Musketeers.

Don’t put off till tomorrow what … you put on to go to bed.

Laugh and the whole world laughs with you, cry and … you have to blow your nose.

I am afraid that at that age, I would have responded perhaps the same way. But that’s when I began to think:

If God wrote my life as a Proverb, how would it end?

Though God is omniscient, omnipotent (all-knowing and all-powerful, respectively), and sovereign, He still gives us a free will. He still allows us to make choices that can enrich our lives our ruin it. So in a way, what these first graders wrote is indicative of what’s really happening now.

God has given us life. He began our “proverb” but it’s up to us to finish it. Of course, our Saviour is always willing to help, but we have to ask, trust, and obey. My prayer is that my proverb will match the ending God desires for my life.

Leave a Reply

