Happy Birthday To Me!

If my daughter would’ve titled this post, it would be called “Happy Day!” The “birth” part or the word presently alludes her speech. But yesterday was a special day for me- it was my 19th spiritual birthday. And as I look back, I can’t think of a better way to spend my birthday. Have you ever had those birthdays where you got more than you expected? October 4th, 2011 was that type of day for me.

It started off by not getting much sleep. I literally “rang in” my spiritual birthday as I was still up at 3 a.m.! Tuesdays are teacher meeting days so I was in the office by 7 a.m. and I was dragging. Not the start I imagined but it only got better from there.

I was scheduled to preach chapel and with our Outreach Conference starting the following day (Wednesday), the Lord laid on my heart to preach about Pharoah’s offers to God’s people to partially follow Him. Do you know it’s possible kneel at an altar at the end of a preaching service and not necessarily make the right decision? Pharaoh told Moses that the Israelites can worship in the land, without their wives and children, and without their livestock. They were partial, but not complete decisions.

After I finished preaching, one of our students came up to me, weeping, and said, “I need to be saved.” Not that salvation or the conviction to be saved comes from us as preachers but I quickly thought about what I had just preached. “Did I preach hard about salvation?” I mentioned that it was my spiritual birthday but that was about it. Lesson learned- it’s not about the preacher but about Christ!

I took her into the school office and started to ask her questions. The more she answered the more the Holy Spirit was prompting, “Why are you so hesitant? Just lead her to Christ already! I’ve already done the convicting.” A few moments later, this 7th grade student bowed her head and prayed Christ to save her. For many months she has been doubting her salvation but on October 4th, 2011 she was born into the family of God! Lesson learned- when someone says, “I need to be saved,” it is not my duty to second guess their motives; it is my duty to give them the Gospel.

As I was out soul wining last night, I recounted the story to one of my friends and he responded, “That’s cool! You two now share a spiritual birthday. God used you to birth someone else into His family on your own birthday.”

Wow! Can you think of a better birthday present? What a joy to know that 19 years later God is still saving souls. He didn’t stop with me. The Lord continues to speak to the hearts of men and women, boys and girls, as the Holy Spirit woos them to Christ. What did I learn? Even today, God is not willing that any should perish.

How about you? What would you want on your spiritual birthday? Other than being with the Lord and the loved ones He has blessed me with, leading someone to the saving knowledge of Christ has to be right there at the top of the list! Lesson learned- keep the main thing, the main thing and the main thing is souls! Jesus came to seek and to save.

If you are reading this and you’re not saved, or maybe like this young lady you are doubting your salvation, I plead with you to settle that today. Click on the top of the page on “The Greatest Gift” tab to learn more about what Jesus has already done for you!

Leave a Reply

