How July 4th Changed My Life

Nineteen years ago, at the San Francisco Airport, I stepped onto American soil for the first time in my life! It was the fourth of July. My younger sister, Andrea, was born in California and I was to meet her for the first time. I had enough items in my suitcase to last me a few weeks. It was just a visit. We weren’t staying long, I thought.

Then one night, I overheard my Dad talking to my aunt. He told her that he would like to start over, have a fresh start. I was definitely against it but looking back, I can see God’s hand all over it!

As we enjoyed the freedoms this land provides, I have listed some that have changed my life since.

Freedom To  Prosper

I quickly learned that the United States was a land of opportunities. A student of mine said it this way recently, “Don’t let opportunities present themselves. Present yourself to the opportunity.” If you are willing to work hard, there is an opportunity to prosper.

Likewise, God gives us the opportunity to prosper. Perhaps the most popular verse that speaks to this is Joshua 1:8, “This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success.” As we approach the Word of God with an open heart, a willing mind, and a surrendered will, the Lord promises prosperity and success! We have the freedom to prosper.

Freedom To Worship

God used the religious persecution in Europe to bring Bible-believing Christians to our shores. Seeking to escape the governmental impositions of a state-run church, these Christians came to the New World seeking to worship the one and true God biblically. Though the framework of our constitution and the declaration of our independence spell out an individual’s right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, they also state that these rights were given to us by our Creator.

We live in a land where every person has the freedom to worship whomever or whatever they choose. As for me, on October 4, 1992- a few months after I set foot on this great nation, I chose Christ! On that day I was gloriously saved! Why? Because in God’s omniscience, He saw fit to move my family and I to the United States so that we can be introduced to our Personal Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ.

As you can see, July 4th changed my life. It was more than an opportunity to simply enjoy the land of the free; it was God’s plan to introduce me to His Son, whom I love and am pleased to serve because of what He’s done for me. Remember we are free so we can serve Him!

 

Leave a Reply

