Marrying My Best Friend

I’ve been spending a lot of time in recent days thinking about my marriage. I have asked the Lord to show me how to be a better husband (and believe me, He showed me!). I am so grateful to the Lord for allowing me to marry my best friend. I shudder to think where I would be if I had ended up with someone else.

For the past twelve years (that’s right, I’ve been married for eleven years, in love for twelve), Amy has been my best and closest friend, humanly speaking. She has been such a biblical example of a best friend.

She’s Loyal To Me

I think about David and Jonathan when it comes to loyalty. First Samuel 18-20 outline Jonathan’s stand against his own father’s desire to kill David. It would have been easy to take the back seat and say, “Good luck, David! Hope you can get out of this unscathed.”

There have been times in the last twelve years when it seemed as if things were just not going right for me. I don’t think she’s ever thought it, but I suppose if Amy wanted to, she could have bailed on me. But she didn’t. She stood by her man- she’s loyal!

She Loves Me

The Bible states in Proverbs 17:17, A friend loveth at all times. I don’t know about you, I know I’ve been unloveable to my wife a time or two. There have been times I said something I shouldn’t have and times when I didn’t say something when I should have! Through it all and at the end of it all, Amy still looks me in the eye and sincerely says, “I love you.”

She’s Honest With Me

Criticism hurts! Criticism from someone you love is even worse. But think about it, who would you rather hear it from? Faithful are the wounds of a friend, the Bible says.

There have been times when I’ve tried to justify before my wife my sinful behavior or attitude. She sweetly listens and when I’m done she lowers the boom. “Honey, you’re wrong,” she says in such a sweet tone. Her graceful disposition diffuses my defensiveness. I cannot begin to tell you how many heartaches my wife has spared me from simply because she honestly and lovingly corrected me.

She Sharpens Me

I’ve told many stories before of how my wife asked me harder questions than my ordination council during our courting time. “What do you believe about this doctrine?” “How would you define faithfulness?” “What do you believe the Bible teaches about discipline?” “Are you a soul winner?” On and on the questions went and obviously, I passed! One of the hardest questions was, “Are you spiritual enough to lead me and our family?” Ouch!

Even today she truly is the iron that God uses to sharpen me. Her love for the Lord, His Word, and His work are constant examples and encouragements to me. I am greatly blessed.

She Agrees With Me

You knew this was coming! Let’s just be honest, why would you befriend someone who doesn’t agree with you? Amos said it best when he rhetorically asked, Can two walked together except they be agreed?

After the barrage of questions during our courtship, we obviously agreed on all the major things (the in-law issues are still under discussion- insert giggle here). And finally…

She Sacrifices For Me

I know that as a husband and a father, sacrificing for my family is one of my primary functions. Yet there are times, Amy has sacrificed for me. There have been long work days, ministry push times, lengthy after-church meetings, and so much more. She’s tried to care for our child while battling a migraine. She has graciously listened to others criticize me and have a forgiving spirit about it. She shouldn’t have to do these things! But she does. Why? Because Amy seeks to follow the steps of our Saviour, Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.

Though Amy is my best friend, there is no better friend than Jesus! C.F. Weigle said it best when he penned these words,

No one ever cared for me like Jesus; there’s no other friend so kind as He. No one else can take the sin and darkness from me. Oh how much He care for me!

Is Jesus your friend? Has He taken the sin and darkness from you? If not, receive the Greatest Gift today.

Leave a Reply

