Spinning My Wheels

After being out on vacation and enjoying food that probably wasn’t conducive to my fitness goals, I decided to take my bike out for a ride. I thought going out in the morning was going to be better since it was cooler. Boy, was I wrong! It was already approaching 100 degrees when I got out there. At least my mind thought I was working hard as sweat poured out every pore of my body.

When my wife and I walk or go for a ride, we usually log our workouts in an app on our phones. Seeing your progress is encouraging. It helps us set higher goals. And it also helps us be accountable to those that have worked so hard to help us get to where we are today. Isn’t technology wonderful? That’s what I thought, until…

Since I just got back from vacation, I thought I’d take it easy and gradually work my way back into our routine. A short ride but a new route.

So I did a quick check of the bike (didn’t want to walk back home because of a flat tire), put on my gear, turned on my music, and activate my workout app. I was off!

It didn’t feel too bad so I dropped the gears and decided to go for speed and break some old records. My pace is not as fast as others but I was just simply competing with myself! I wanted to have a higher miles-per-hour rate today than I did the last time I was out.

After almost twenty minutes, I finished my course and turned off my workout app. When I complete a workout, it automatically uploads my stats to Twitter.

After a few seconds of completing my ride, I got a message from a pastor friend in California. He said, “You spent nearly twenty minutes going nowhere!” Another friend from Missouri asked, “How did you ride for 20 minutes and not go anywhere?”

I checked my phone and noticed that my GPS wasn’t working. Gotta love technology, right? It appeared as if I spent twenty minutes on a bike going nowhere! That may be okay in a gym but not on the road.

If we’re not careful, that’s exactly how our Christian life can be- a lot of work with nowhere to go. Worse yet, for those that do not know Christ as their Personal Saviour- they can do their good works but it won’t take them to Heaven!

Much has been said about serving the Lord and we should. But be careful about serving for serving’s sake; serve for the Saviour’s sake! Being busy in God’s work doesn’t automatically make our relationship with Him better. We are created for His pleasure. We are to do everything in and by faith. It is possible to work a ton and get nowhere in our relationship with God. Remember that Christ is to have the preeminence in our lives. We must seek the Lord. Check your motives. Don’t spend the rest of your life spinning your wheels.

And friend, if you are not saved; if you don’t know for sure you’re going to Heaven, stop working for it and trust Jesus Christ alone. No church, denomination or good works will give you eternal life. Jesus is the only Way, the only Truth, and the only Life. You can trust Him now or spin your wheels and go nowhere! Actually, the Bible (Revelation 20:14-15) says that if you don’t trust Christ, you will spend an eternity in the Lake of Fire. If you want to know more about trusting Him, click on the “Greatest Gift” tab above.

Leave a Reply

