Sounding Like My Dad

I had the privilege of preaching at East Hill Baptist Church last Sunday evening. Pastor and Mrs. Steen have been serving in Kent, Washington for over a decade. They are faithful servants of the Lord and some of the humblest people you’ll ever meet. Every time my Dad and I talk about the church, he speaks very highly of Pastor Steen. He’s a pastor who truly loves God and loves God’s people. I am thankful that my parents (and two sisters) are actively involved in this local church.

After I finished preaching, I was shaking hands with the church family when one of the elderly ladies came up to me and said, “You sound just like your Dad!” I must admit, after being around my parents for a week and listening to the accent of my native land, I found myself slipping back into my old speech patterns. Even during the message, I gave a “t” sound when I was supposed to pronounce a “th.” I chuckled a bit after hearing this lady’s comment. Truthfully, I have no idea what she really meant but the comment got me thinking.

I wonder if anyone has ever gone up to you and said, “You sound just like your dad.” What did you think about that statement? Sadly, there are many who would be offended by such a statement. Many sons have chosen to forge their own ways and become as different as they can be from their fathers and I must say, in some cases, I understand.

But for me, on that day, I counted it an honor to “sound just like my Dad!” Every person I talk to at East Hill Baptist Church loves my Dad! “He’s such a servant.” “He’s always smiling.” “He’s so respectful.” “He’s such a generous person.” And on and on the comments go. I know there have been times my Dad has publicly said, “I’m proud of my son.” But I can honestly tell you today, “I’m proud of my Dad!”

I am thankful that he has lived in such a way that my family and I don’t have to be ashamed of him. Doesn’t the Bible say, “A good name is rather to be chosen than great riches?” If you’re a dad, live in such a way that your children won’t be offended when someone tells them, “You sound just like your dad.”

Leave a Reply

