Having a Virus

The past few weeks (it may even be months) our church has been hit hard by sickness. From the flu to common colds, members have fallen victim to one or more of these viruses. At one point, twenty percent of our school (including teachers) were out because of sickness.

In our home, both my wife and child have had colds and infections. For the most part, I was able to stay well and care for our family. What I noticed in most cases was that this virus (or its cousin) did not hesitate to hit you again a few weeks later! And the relapse was worse than the initial conflict with this illness.

Last week, it was my turn. It started with a headache, but it didn’t stop there!

All of a sudden, every other part of me started to hurt- even parts I didn’t know I possessed! I felt awful. And the more I tried to get better, it seemed the worst it got. I did everything from medicine to sleeping to fluids. I was hoping it would be over in 24 hours. That’s how it used to be, right?

This virus got into my body, set up camp and decided to stay for a while. As many around me at school and church started to get sick, I did all that I can to stay well but for this round the virus won and I was suffering the consequences. Needless to say, I looked and felt miserable!

Why is it we don’t treat the “sin virus” the same way? Many Christians today are walking around with this virus and may I add, it is contagious! They wipe their sinful snot on everything, their carnal sneeze travels through the air, and the bitter fever affects everyone around them.

The Bible is clear that sin wants to enslave our body according to Romans 6. We ought to yield to Christ through the Holy Spirit. And yet, just like a physical virus will cause us to do things we would not usually do (such as vomit, among other things), the spiritual virus causes us to live a defeated, bitter, complaining, powerless life. My friend, this is not God’s plan!

To top it off, we walk around (and hang around) those that have this sickness and act as if we are immune. The Bible is clear that we are to “walk not in the counsel of the ungodly.” Solomon said, “My son, if sinners entice thee, consent thou not.” After all should we not instead walk with wise men? Sure they’re not perfect. Who is? Yet, they strive for holiness by the power of Christ!

And let me address the relapse. I am thankful for 1 John 1:9. I am thankful that where sin did abound, grace did much more abound. But remember, too, that to whom much is given, much is required. Friend, God’s grace is sufficient. But don’t frustrate this grace (Galatians 2:21) or ask God for more sacrifices (Hebrews 10:26). Sin sure is pleasurable for a season but remember that God is not and will not be mocked. A man will always sow what he has reaped.

How do we get well? Go back to the Word! A shot of Psalm 19 and 119 will get you on your way. And the virus will stay away with a daily dose of John 17:17 and Psalm 139:23-24. Get well now!

 

Leave a Reply

