My Forever Valentine

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For the past 11 years, I have been privileged to spend my Valentine’s Day with the same woman, my best friend and my wife, Amy Michelle. Though we only have one decade under our belt, I am confident that our love will last forever. I say this not because I’m perfect (Amy may be, but certainly not me) or because I have it all figured out. I am still a growing Christian husband, father, preacher, ministry worker, teacher, and friend. I have not arrived!

As society continues to degrade the marriage institution and the biblical family model, it becomes increasingly clear Who’s right and who’s wrong! The more man resists the ways of the Lord, the more miserable He becomes. So why say Amy is my Valentine forever?

What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder.

Who ordained your marriage? Who gave you your spouse? Who brought you together? Who is the Author and Designer of the home? You know the answer as well as I do- it’s God! And if He has joined you to your spouse, who are you to tear it apart? Don’t listen to the critics nor to the statisticians. God is greater than them all and God said because I put it together, it need not be put asunder.

I can be assured to have Amy as my “Forever Valentine” because God has joined us together. That’s better than all the world’s guarantees- combined!

Whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.

Often when we use this verse, we speak of the sin that we sow and the consequences we will reap. And yet the passage talks about sowing in the Spirit, too.

We have all seen the results of fleshly, carnal marriages. The fights, the gossiping, the dissatisfaction, and the obvious discontent. We know God’s order and design for marriage and we need not look too far to see the effects of conducting marriage our way rather than God’s way.

But if you’re honest, you’ve also seen the reaping a couple makes when they choose to honor Christ in their home. You see the fruits of the Spirit. You’ve seen the love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, and temperance. You find yourself longing for that type of relationship. Here’s the great news- you don’t have to long for it because you can have it! Simply sow spirit-filled acts in your marriage and wait for the fruit to grow.

Really it comes down to this, trust God and obey God. Trusting is the knowledge that He is the Orchestrator of your marriage and obeying simply means following God’s plan for your home. After all, isn’t God perfect? Why question Him now? Simply trust and obey Him so you can enjoy your forever Valentine!

Love adds and subtracts but never keeps score.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

