Thoughts From the Staff Retreat

How can you say there is no God when you watch a beautiful Sedona, Arizona sunset?

This past weekend, our staff took a few hours out of town to accomplish some training for the ministry. Pastor, Dr. Brewer, and I prepared lessons on    synergy, prayer, and various other topics that would further equip us to be the staff we ought to be.

Every year, as we prepare for this meeting, I am reminded of a few things     regarding my personal life. First of all, I am reminded that I have not arrived. It is amazing what happens in one year of ministry and how much the world (and people) have changed. Praise the Lord that we trust in a God and His Word that are forever unchanging! And it is in His Book that we seek for the direction    needed for another year of ministry.

Second of all, I remember that I still need to grow. This week, my wife and I    finished our tenth year of ministry at DGBC. I am thankful for how God has grown me and my family and yet, it’s not enough! I must continue to grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

And last of all, God reminds me that ministry is people-work, not paperwork. When we labor for God, it’s not about filling out forms or going over statistics. It’s about who the forms and the statistics represent-people! Jesus died for    people, not paper.

I echo the words of Paul when he said, “And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who hath enabled me, for that he counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry.” Praise God for the opportunity and privilege to serve my Saviour!

Leave a Reply

