A Lesson From My One Year Old

As I write this post, I find myself relaxed in the middle of a vacation. The smell of the ocean breeze, the sound of the crashing waves, and the company of my wife and child without interruption have been welcomed feelings for a long time.

I knew it was time for a vacation when I left my baby in nursery last Sunday. Typically, it’s never been a problem. I give her a hug, a kiss, and the regular “Be good in nursery” speech. Then she walks away and I go about my business. This time, she clung to my leg tightly that it left marks on my legs. She cried loudly and said “Daddy.” How can I leave her now? Then my wife reminded me that it has been a busy week, a busy past few months even. My wife said, “Your baby girl just misses you.”

That’s when I knelt down and told her, “After tonight’s service, Daddy is all yours!” I’m not quite sure if she understood but she calmed down, expecting me to keep the promise I just made her.

Have you found yourself so busy sometimes that your family just misses you? As men, we pride ourselves in working hard and providing for our families that sometimes, we forget why we work so hard. You can work to provide but what happens when you lose those for whom you provide? Sometimes, it’s just good to slow down and enjoy the blessings of family. And that’s exactly what I am going to do now!

Leave a Reply

