Water Damage

It was a typical Monday morning. After a very busy and productive Lord’s Day, I came into school a little bit tired. I noticed the sprinkler system for the grass area was going. It must have been running for a while because the water had started to trickle down the driveway. Seeing all that water made me want to run through the sprinklers to signal the beginning of the summer season. After talking myself out of that idea, I made my way to my work area and got set up for the day.

Then one of our teachers, Mrs. Pearson, came in and said, “The Fireside room is flooded!” I got up from my seat and walked into our high school homeroom location. The water was almost two inches high. I walked into the room next to it and the water was just as high and continuing to rise. I heard the water coming from where our baptistery used to be located but the doors were locked. Summoning all the strength I had, I proceeded to kick the door! They make it look so easy on TV- but not in real life. I think I heard the door laughing at me!

Finally someone came with a key. We unlocked the door and turned off the water. By this time, more damaged has been done.It was a mess! School had to be cancelled for the day which brought great disappointment to our students- because they could not play in huge puddles! You know how kids can be.

A few minutes later the plumber came and showed me the damage. The copper pipe, which never rusts, had developed a weak spot. This weak spot then turned into a crack, which when pushed by the water pressure caused the damage we walked into this morning. What a mess!

Did you know that is how sin affects our lives? Often, sin is so miniscule, so private, that no one would ever suspect. But the more we feed this “pet sin,” the more it grows. The more it grows, the more it demands of you. No wonder Paul encourages us not to be a slave to sin but to righteousness (Romans 6). A Gospel song put it this way,

Sin will take you farther than you want to go. Slowly and wholly taking control. Sin will keep you longer than you want to stay. Sin will cost you far more than you want to pay.

May I encourage you to confess that pet sin today? Don’t let it grow and control you. When sin is finished, the Bible tells us that it bringeth forth death. It may be just a little sin but remember that a little leaven leaveneth a whole lump. It does not take much to take us down the wrong path. God is ready, able, and willing to forgive. After all, if we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us of our sin and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

I’m not sure how old that pipe was or how long the weak spot has been present. But when it finally burst, it caused a lot of damage. Don’t think for a moment that our sins won’t eventually burst and cause great heartache and sorrow in our lives. We serve a holy, righteous, and just God and His judgment will come. But praise the Lord that His mercies endureth forever and that He will willing to forgive and remove our transgressions as far as the east is from the west. Will you ask Him to forgive you today? I know He will! Let God forgive you before the water damage comes.

Leave a Reply

