SWEET WORDS…

The Bible tells us in Proverbs 15:23b, “A word spoken in due season, how good is it!” Tonight, Amy and I received some very sweet words. February 19th was a busy day on the adoption front.

The day started with a phone call from Kandi, our case worker. She informed me that Erin was scheduled to have a c-section delivery on March 16th. I proceeded to talk details with her about the completion of the adoption process. As I hung up, Erin’s case worker, Amy called me and scheduled a conference call tonight. We also scheduled to meet Erin next week, allowing us to be with her for one of her check ups. We will get to meet our Anabelle next week through the gift of technology. I pray to have ultrasound pcitures up next week.

After school, Amy and I went to Baby Depot and Target to register for Anabelle’s needs. So many people have asked us what we need and why we have not yet registered that we set aside some time to do that today.

After having dinner at Paradise Bakery, we came home and eagerly antipated our conference call. This is where it gets better!

When I answered the phone and every party was accounted for, Erin began to speak. Here are the first words Erin said, “You’ve been waiting for a long time for a baby. I want to tell you that your wait is over! I am carrying your baby!” I cannot begin to tell you what went through our minds. For the next twenty minutes, Erin confirmed over and over again that she is not going to change her mind and that the baby is ours. Sweet words!

It was evident that Erin has fallen in love with the Lord as she used phrases such as “God has given me great peace,” “God saved me,” and “The Lord is awesome!” To which, Amy and I responded with a hearty “Amen!”

There are so many details I want to share with you from the conversation. All of which will be shared, along with the rest of the story, when Anabelle Grace is safely home. I will share one bit of information that once again confirms the power of prayer.

When Erin was telling us the story of her getting arrested by a police officer, she told us the date. It was September 15th. A few nights before, thousands of miles away in Heber, Arizona, a group of ladies from Desert Gateway Baptist Church were assembled together for a retreat. After the Thursday evening service, the speaker Mrs. Debbie Goddard, gathered together with some ladies in our church who desired to have children (one of whom was my wife). She spoke to them of what God has personally done in her life and proceeded to pray for and with them that night.

I remember Amy telling me about that and it encouraged me to be more fervent and persistent in my prayer. I have no doubt in my mind that on the morning of Septemeber 15th, a group of ladies and gentlemen prayed for Amy and I by name to have children. Thus, Erin’s encounter with the police, which in her words, “were used of God to save me and save your baby.”

Oh, what a Saviour! He’s so good to us! If the story of Anabelle’s birth is this amazing, I wonder what the story of her life will be? God knows and we are thankful to have a front row seat for this, our precious miracle in Anabelle!

2 thoughts on “SWEET WORDS…

  1. As tears are streaming down my face I am praising God for my precious little Anabelle! This is truly a work of the Lord. I am so thankful that she is going to have the most Godly parents and be raised in a God fearing home. I have read this over and over again and it just blesses my heart each time. Grammy and Pap

Leave a Reply

