WHILE WAITING…


As Amy and I continue on this adoption journey, I honestly thought that we were ready for all the challenges we may face. The roller coaster emotions, the preparation for the unknown, and the wait. Oh, the waiting!

I have never had to quote so many “wait” verses in my life. I know that it has only been 35 days since this whole process started and God has moved on our behalf faster than most adoption processes. I’ll simply be honest, the wait is killing me! Amy and I want to be parents and we want it to happen now. But as I often remind myself, “Everything is made beautiful in His time.”

Last week was the first week we did not hear any news. I tried not to nag the agency too much (I only called three times) and it was all I could do to stay sane. But yesterday, we received something in the mail. It wasn’t necessarily what we expected but it was something that we can do while we were waiting.

We received what was called a “Self Study.” More questions regarding ourselves only this time, Amy and I are not allowed to compare answers. I also found a form that we are to bring to our family physician for a physical exam. I know it doesn’t seem much but at least it’ll help during the wait.

As I read the questions, I was first nervous. I have never been under such scrutiny, at least not for a while. The questions were very personal and can catch you off guard if you’re not careful. But the more I thought about it, the more thankful I was for being a Christian.

The questions often had to do with character issues. I have heard of adoption experiences where parents were afraid that a wrong answer might jeopardize their chances. Some had to lie to accommodate those reading their answers. The great thing about being a Christian, we don’t have to change anything for anyone because at the end of the day, God is the only One we seek to please.

One thought on “WHILE WAITING…

Leave a Reply

