THE ALABAMA VACATION


After the madness entitled, “Carlos & Jeni’s Wedding,” Amy and I took a few extra days to spend with Grandmother and the rest of the family in Roanoke, Alabama. Grandmother’s favorite expressions was “Whew, I’m tired!” After the busyness of the wedding, we had a great time waking up whatever time we wanted to and just sitting around and doing nothing with Grandmother.

Sunday morning was spent at Center Chapel Baptist Church where Amy’s uncle is the pastor (we’ll talk about him later). We then went to Pizza Express for lunch. That evening we went to Welcome Home Baptist Church. This is Grandmother’s home church. That evening, we just went home and enjoyed doing nothing, again!

Amy bought a book entitled “Grandmother’s Memories To Her Grandchild.” The book includes many different questions about Grandmother’s childhood, her first crush (juicy stuff), her parents, friends, etc. Cindy bought a copy for $20! It was an enjoyable time for Amy to get to know Grandmother a little bit better. That was the highlight of Amy’s vacation.

My highlight was a little bit more different. Uncle Jody took the time to attempt to teach me how to fish. For those of you who know me, fishing for me involves a butcher and me saying, “I am going to take that piece right there!” Anyhow, we fished from about 11 a.m. until 5 p.m. I think I caught as may trees as I did fish. But by the end of the day, I really did enjoy it and would like to do it more frequently. It was very relaxing.

Overall, a good time was had by all. We came back to Sweet Home Arizona on Wednesday evening and it was back to the our ministry on Thursday morning!

Leave a Reply

